Finally starting the OSCP!

McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hey everyone! As of last night I have completed my registration and payment for the OSCP. I signed up for up the 90 day lab package to make sure that I get the most out of the labs before I sign up for the exam. In the following paragraph I wil give you guys a bit of background information about myself so that those of you thinking about signing up can get an idea of what my experience is and hopefully it gives you the confidence to sign up as well!

I have a bachelors of science in Information Technology, I learned a little bit in college but not as much as I could have because at the time I was in a pretty active band and we were playing shows all the time and that was my main focus. When I graduated I found it very hard for me to find a job (probably because I didnt take my college seriously until the end) in the area where I live. Luckily, one of my best friends(who is much older than me) is the CIO of a company in a town near where I live. He was kind enough to allow me to come and sit in his office and give me tasks to do and watch him do some things so that I could get some experience(an unpaid internship). Fast forward 8 months and I finally landed a job for a company working at the local hospital as a tier 2 service tech and rollout technician. Basically me and one other guy where responsible for the hardware on every single machine the hospital owned(the number was over 2000). We also ended up doing software and application support eventually due to our company willing to do anything and everything the hospital asked of them. Fast forward 8 more months, after talking to a contracting company I was told that if I could obtain my Security+, that I would have a job. I spent the next month studying my ass off, because at this point I hated my current job and wanted to leave as soon as I could(I can provide more details on this if you wish to know). After a month of studying I went and