CCNP route books - OCG or FLG?

MAC_AddyMAC_Addy Member Posts: 1,740 ■■■■□□□□□□
So which do you think I should get? The OCG or the FLG? I've heard pro's and con's for both. Just wondering which I should get?
2017 Certification Goals:
CCNP R/S

Comments

• LDhikerLDhiker Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Safari books online 10 day free trial. Take a look at them and decide. I have a subscription, so I use both as needed. I also bought Chris Bryant's CCNP Switch book, it was like 5 or 10 bucks.
  • Nightflier101BLNightflier101BL Member Posts: 134 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I haven't tried either one based on reviews and what I've seen for myself with my Safari subscription. I'm using the two Routing TCP/IP volumes (which are fantastic, by the way) as my primary reading. Along with this, I've printed out the exam blueprint and supplementing the above with Cisco documentation.

For some reason, I'm just not liking the OCGs or I'm just not absorbing it properly - something.
  • shortstop20shortstop20 Member Posts: 161 ■■■□□□□□□□
    There's plenty of distaste for the OCG but I like them. Yes, the first edition had ALOT of errors that were corrected, but I think the OCG are great overall.

I have not read the FLG.
    CCNA Security - 6/11/2018
    CCNP TShoot - 3/7/2018
    CCNP Route - 1/31/2018
    CCNP Switch - 12/10/2015
    CCNA R/S - 1/14/2015
  • negru_tudornegru_tudor Member Posts: 473 ■■■□□□□□□□
    MAC_Addy wrote: »
    So which do you think I should get? The OCG or the FLG? I've heard pro's and con's for both. Just wondering which I should get?

Well..

They're both lacking in material depth but out of the two, I find the OCG better than FLG (for SWITCH at least).

You should however be able to get by with any of these BUT you have to complement with video courses. I can't recommend INE's video courses enough for CCNP R&S. I hated their stuff on the voice track but for R&S, they're the most thorough you can find.
    2017-2018 goals:
    [X] CIPTV2 300-075