Question About Study Materials

GhouloGhoulo Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
First of all I'm sorry for the incoming wall of text.

Let me give a little background information. I am 43 years old and my mind isn't what it used to be. I am honestly feeling overwhelmed about all the information I will have to learn to get my certification. I have a Bachelors Degree in Business Information with an emphasis in Computer Information Systems. I got that degree in 2001 and have no work experience in IT so I have forgot a lot of that information. I am disabled with back problems which prevent me from sitting or standing for long periods of time so I spend most of my day in the bed since the only time my back doesn't hurt is when I am laying down. I applied for disability and was denied. They told me since I have a college education I can do work that a lot of other people can't. Well I don't see how I can do much since I can't sit or stand for very long.

I have been very interested in computers my whole life and always wanted to get a job in the IT field so I did some searching online and it turns out that there are lots of job opportunities for computer programmers working from home. This has given me new hope that I can finally help support my wife and child even though I am disabled. I can work at home, from my laptop, while in bed. I did some more research and have decided to go back to school and get a degree in software development from Western Governors University. See Bachelor Degree in Software Development | Online IT Degree if you want more info on it. They have some requirements you must meet before starting the program. My prior education wasn't enough to get me in so the only other way I can do so is by getting my A+ certification. The certification is actually part of the degree program so getting it will mean I can get credit for a couple of classes and will be that much closer to graduating.