Options

(picking certifications) No experience. taking 3 months off to study

hellarhellar Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Im a recent business grad that is looking to go into infosec. After not getting accepted to the only job that would consider hiring someone with no technical experience, I have decided to take 3 months off (no work, just studying) to teach myself python and get some certifications under my belt before looking again.
With that in mind, what certificates would be the best use of my time.
These are the ones i had in mind, in order but obviously im open to suggestions
1. Comp TIA A+
2. GSEC: SANS GIAC Security Essentials
3. Comp TIA Network +
4. Comp TIA security +
5. CEH
6. CISSP

Not sure what I will be able to crank out in 3 months. I was hoping at least 2 as well as becoming proficient in python.
Any other advice in the info sec career path is also much appreciated.
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    No technical experience? Take the entry level ones: CompTIA A+/Net+/Sec+. The trifecta. It's obtainable in 3 months (lots of studying with no experience).

Remember, though: you're starting from the bottom. It'll take a bit before you hit that infosec job. Look into helpdesk or something as a start. From there, it's fairly easy to move up to jr. sys admin and up if you have the determination and the will to succeed.

The others, especially the CISSP, would need some experience. The CISSP requires 5 years of infosec experience within 3 domains. CEH is easy, but I had experience and several other certs before I took it. I still feel it's an entry level infosec (but not entry level IT) cert.

Start from the bottom. Then work up. A+, Network+, Security+ will be a great foundation. Couple that with a year or two of helpdesk and you'll be ready to tackle the harder stuff.
  • Options
    Thank you for your comments, i really appreciate it.
  • Options
    tmtextmtex Member Posts: 326 ■■■□□□□□□□