Failed 1z0-061

JohnGrubJohnGrub Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
Just to share my experience of the SQL Fundamentals Oracle 12c exam.

1. My background prior the exam : I was not a layman in SQL an I knew how to write queries (group by, Having, inner joins, ...) for a basic CRUD application

2. I studied with the official study guide : https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0071820280/ref=pd_sbs_14_t_0/252-0770908-3752017?ie=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=DZNMSQN5CSGJ0Q4PWHBE

After the exam, I would not recommend it for two reasons :

- it gives theoritical knowledge as if you are already prepared for the exam. Don't expect it to go into appropriate details. Make sure you study the exam objectives YOURSELF then with at least two other books (including that one). You need to be an expert in the theoritical knowledge required for the exam and dont expect the book to teach you that (remember my background)

- DO NOT CONSIDER THE "Self Test assessment" of the book as good practice. Find some other ressources ...maybe Kaplan's tests will do but the exams qustions where NOTHING compared with the "Self test assessment". A LOT IS ASKED about basic accounting computations such as computing taxes ; compute balance ; etc ... so find some reliable practice tests that will prepare you to that

3. Find some reliable practice test to prepare you to the complexity of the exams. My guess is you should be able to answer the 75 questions is 105 mins (leaving you 15 minutes fo review).... Exams questions are not tricky BUT require brain "stamina" and preparation to their complexity ..brief FIND A GOOD Realiable practice test.

I hope those who passed can suggest some good theoritcal and practical ressources.