Problem getting the sponsor with CISSP

carlettuscarlettus Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,
I'm planning to give the CISSP exam this year, I've been working as a Network Manager for almost 20 years.
Last year I changed job and now I'm a security analyst.
In my previous job part of my work was related to activities on security areas. In particular :

Domain 1) Prepared security procedures and guidelines
domain 4) designed and implemented Network Security segmentation
domain 6) Infrastructure and Applications Vulnerability assesment
domain 7) Security operations : antivirus scanning , IPS rules creation , patch managment .

My problem is that I don't have a sponsor for the previous job or it's better to say that he doesn't want to sponsor me.
I have all the performance appraisals (with good scores) signed by my previous supervisor, can this help or how can I sort out this situation?

Thank you
Carlettus

Comments

• dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Do you know a current CISSP in good standing that can vouch for your experience? I knew my last employer would not give out any information other than dates of employment as they have a very strict policy and only the head of the accounting department is permitted to give that info and he barely knows how to turn a computer on so he would have no clue what I did or didn't do so I had a current co-worker endorse me. I had the experience and was endorsed and received my CISSP and it sounds like you have more experience than I do so you shouldn't have any issues if you can find a CISSP to endorse you.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Why not have ISC2 endorse you?
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    cyberguypr wrote: »
    Why not have ISC2 endorse you?
    ISC2 will then audit him.
    @Carlettus, if your previous manager refused, can you get your previous company HR to produce proof of job history?
    If this helps, this was what ISC2 requested when they endorse me.