Options

ISACA December 2016 Exam Experience and Results - CISA, CISM, CGEIT, CRISC

RogueJDRogueJD Member Posts: 46 ■■■□□□□□□□
It seems to be common in this forum to have a singular thread for discussions about the exam experience and results, as opposed to having many smaller threads.

Please feel free to discuss your exam experience, and to get in on the betting pool as to when the official results are posted.

-

This was my first certification - ever (CRISC). I have a good core of academic knowledge (MS: IT), and even attended a 4-month full-time trade school. I should have rec'd my A+, Sec+, CCNA, and Some basic Microsoft certs, but even though I attended that full-time course, I didn't find a lot of value in the entry level certs, so I never actually took the tests. I work as a "risk practitioner", so I have a lot of practical experience that helped.

Since I'm tasked with developing our Enterprise Cybersecurity Risk Management department where I work, I convinced the brass to spring for a 3-day "CRISC Boot Camp." That was the Monday - Wednesday prior to the exam. The only studying I did prior to that was going over a few basic practice exams, and some of the self-assessment questions in the official ISACA CRISC Study guide (provided to me by the same company that did the boot camp).

In the end, I think the "boot camp" was helpful, but having access to many practice exams with an answer key that had explanations for each possible response was most beneficial.