Options

4500 Hours Work Experience requirement - please help if this count

pusherpusher Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am thinking about going down the PM road and thus working toward the PMP (or Agile road) but not sure if what I do counts toward the 4500 hours project management work experience requirement. It is stated that I need to count my hours relating to project management that is in the five PMI Process Group.

- initiating
- planning
- executing
- monitoring/controlling
- closing

A little background. I have a BS degree. I have been in IT for over 15 years working primary as system admin. The last 5 years is solely focused on infrastructure projects (i.e. upgrading the virtual infrastructure, desktop OS upgrade deployment using SCCM, rolling out remote access system, rolling out disaster recovery system, upgrading document management system and Exchange, etc). You know, infra stuff touching all the stacks (i.e. networking, storage, compute, powershell, etc.) And all I do is working on these projects all day long.

Now, since the company I work at currently isn't a huge enterprise, my supervisor and I decide on the projects and then I do all the initiation, planning, execution (implementation, testing, etc), closing, etc.; and I don't follow the Project Management methodology or process, just used common sense and experience. The people involved, beside my supervisor, sometime requires a couple of other associates to do some testing, completing other tasks relating to the project, etc.

I basically "manage" my own projects as well as doing all the technical stuff. I do everything using my own method, tools to keep track of stuff, and experience. Some of what I do daily, beside the technical stuff, seem to touch on each or some of the 5 PMI Process Group even though I knew nothing about it until now that I am doing some reading into Project Management methodologies.