Options

Network + 10-006 passed - my thoughts

moonlitdaymoonlitday Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I wrote the exam yesterday and I passed. By the skin of my teeth but I'll take it.

I had 87 questions, 3 of which were sims. I finished the exam with 6 minutes to spare. Longest 90 minutes of my life.

Like others have said, the wording of the questions is absolutely atrocious. I found myself reading questions over slowly and carefully multiple times. They really aren't testing your knowledge as much as how you can apply that knowledge based on the very specific wording of the questions posed. I honestly thought there was no way I was passing this. And I studied my ass off for it too.

I used Professor Messer videos and the $10 notes, these were a great overview of the material, quite a bit of it repeats itself as those videos just go through the COMPTIA objectives one by one. After I made it through the videos and took copious notes, I then turned to the Mike Myers All In One book. This book was a great complement to the videos, I got a lot out of it. I used the demo sims and questions that came with the book. I also used Derryl Gibson's N+ app for the mock tests and flashcards. I liked it, good $10 investment. I also used the tests on examcompass as well.

I also purchased the Pearson Simulator that was recommended by a few people here....I didn't like it. Sorry folks. I didn't get a whole lot out of it. The material used in them is not worded the same as either Prof Messer or Mike Myers (spoke and ring network topology...really?). Don't waste your money here IMO.

I'd recommend taking information from as many sources as you can, you'll get something different out of each one. And practice test and flashcard your heart out. I'd really considered buying Mike Myers practice tests, but it was another $100,and I'd decided that I had sunk enough money into this as it was.

Good luck for anyone else studying!

Comments

• Options