GCFE Passed!

sb97sb97 Member Posts: 109
Whew! This one was a lot of work for me. My background is more on the network side as an intrusion analyst. I dont have as much background on the host side. I had a pretty steady line from my two practice tests to my final exam.
  • Practice 1 = 76%
  • Practice 2 = 81%
  • Exam = 86%

I may have over prepared a bit for this exam in terms of bringing material. I indexed my books (The biggest step), did a table of contents, transcribed the "Evidence of" poster into excel, printed some event log references, some FTK reference material, and some data about the FAT file system. In the end, I just used the table of contents, index and the data from the poster.

One thing I did to help me prepare was listen to the first seven episodes of the Digital Forensics Survival Podcast from iTunes. The guy that puts that together does Udemy classes I think. They wont replace the SANS training but they did cover some of the basics.

I thought this was the hardest of the three GIAC cert tests I have taken. I had to refer to my notes far more than I did for the GCIA or GICSP. The exam took me 2:45 although I did spend time double checking answers that I knew were right.

Next up for me will depend on work. I am waiting for approval to take For508 and the GFCA (I am working through Art of memory forensics on my own). Depending on the timing of that I may go for a CISSP next.

Comments

• sb97sb97 Member Posts: 109
    I have a bit more background in the GCFA material. I do get involved with IR work. I am really looking forward to that class (Assuming I get the approvals)
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Congrats on the pass!
  • quogue66quogue66 Member Posts: 193 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats...this was a little difficult for me, too. I think the GCFA has been the most difficult over all.
  • DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□