Passed Sec+ yesterday! Now what...

RattorRattor Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took and passed the Sec+ exam yesterday. I am not an IT professional, I'm just an engineer, and the cert exam was offered through work as a professional skills development opportunity. My manager nominated me (after talking with me), and I was selected to take this exam, even though I had no formal training or experience in the field. I'm more of a hobbyist, with my own semi-complex network at home, including a self-hosted VPN server (OpenVPN on Raspberry Pi).

I had about 1.5 months to take the course and exam, so I took the skillsoft online lecture class that was offered through the work training portal, and then just read what I could. I read an older book covering the 301 version of the exam instead of the 401, and then I read this forum, as much as I could. You all are amazing, and this website is an amazing resource for those of us newbies and lurkers to learn from.

I passed with an 818. I'm proud of that because I was very nervous going in due to how little prep time I had.

Now I'm wondering where I go from here if I want to be a pentester. Work will offer more opportunities in the coming months. Which certs should I take when offered? Last time they offered AWS, CCNA, CEH, CISSP, and Sec+. Sec+ was the most beginner one on that list, which is why it was what I signed up for, but there's no guarantee they'll offer the same courses next time. Any thoughts?

Comments

• atippettatippett Member Posts: 154
    Do you have any networking experience? If not, I'd go CCNA. To be a good pentester you need to understand networking. Then I would go CEH, only because it is free for you and a resume boost. CEH gets downed a lot on this website. From there, I would try to ask your supervisor if they would do the OSCP for you.
  • RattorRattor Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□