What do you think of elearnsecurity vs offensive security ROI and skills for a "newb"

JohnGrubJohnGrub Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

First I'm only a developer (.net, SQL, php, etc...) with basic knowledge of Comptia Sec+.
I want to try a practical security certification. The goal I want to reach is to be fully operational as a security pentester (web application)

Looking on the internet, I saw only two worth (correct me if I'm wrong or incomplete ) practical online training : offensive security and elearnsecurity

At my level, the certification I could do are eWPT, OSCP (since web application course of offensive security only available in the US)

How good would I be fully operative (as in getting valuable consultant jobs) after taking elearnsecurity or offensive sec certification ? I'm only beginning in web app pentesting
Would investing my money in elearsecurity be worth ? (The whole internet seem to consider offensive security as a holly grail... so I don't know)

I know some of you have experimented those so good and bad critics on those cert will help me understand a lot...

Thanks

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Have you looked at the syllabus for each of the certifications?

I would also suggest checking out the eJPT though eLearnSecurity in order to get your started.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • JohnGrubJohnGrub Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Yes I did. Obviously both syllabus look really interesting. eWPT is of course definitely centered on web apps testing ; OSCP has a portion about web apps testing. So OSCP look more daunting to me.