IT jobs - Do you sit too much?

shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
I ran across this on /.

Sitting Too Much Ages You By 8 Years

After reading this article, it really only discusses women and how diabetes and aging is progressive by sitting too much. This is probably why eventually I will get outta IT and jump into a more physical job (green remodeling).

The last 2 yrs, I have had 2 different IT jobs that involved me sitting 95% of the 8hr work day. I have gained about 30lbs though, which is definitely unhealthy (craft beer is my weakness). I really want to try out the treadmill desk, but I wanted to get some feedback from TE peeps about these, if you have used them. I also need to start gradually lifting some weights and doing some cardio. I have a really comfortable work chair, and sometimes I am reclined on most days. Before that, I was an in-field network engineer, so I was on the move most days, and I think it helped keep my weight down or at least to a level that was healthier.

Cheers & HI5!
CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP

Comments

• hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I sit all day but go for walks. I work out though and play soccer, so I don't really care. Not interested in standing up at a desk, but some people enjoy that kind of thing!
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    It is one of the downsides of this career for sure. I've started doing the standing desk deal for half a day. I try to at least take a walk at lunch but that doesn't always happen. My home office has morphed into home gym as well so I can lift some weights even if I get stuck without much free time. Another of the great perks of working from home.

Before doing all this I started to pack on the pounds as well. Not to mention the back pain from sitting 8 hours a day.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.