This is my plan for getting certificates. CCNA -> Comptia Security+

MTLChrisLEEMTLChrisLEE Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I'm currently studying computer engineering.
Administration/Security field has been always interesting to me.

I have been thinking that it is a good idea to get certificates to get a job/internship.

Actually, my original plan was to get CompTIA Network+, then CompTIA Security+.
I did my research and I found that CCNA is more reputable than CompTIA Network+.

Due to so, I changed my plan, I am thinking to get CCNA Routing and Switching certificate. Then, CompTIASecurity+.
However, I read some comments and some people say it is not a good idea to get CCNA without experience.
So, I have no idea what to do. Please, let me know your suggestions.

I cannot say I'm an expert in networking but I know stuff.
I am studying CompTIASecurity+ and CompTIA Network+ as a hobby (I know I'm a geek, but it is fun to study).

In brief,

1. I am a computer engineering student who have been interested in administration/security
2. I am thinking to get CCNA first, then, CompTIA Security+. However, I heard that it is not a good idea to get CCNA without experience.
3. If you were me, what would you do???

Thank you and have a nice day

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'd get the Network+ first. The networking knowledge you'll gain studying that will complement and help with your CCNA studies afterwards.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • dave330idave330i Member Posts: 2,091 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That's the cert path I took (CCNA then S+). Never had any issues.
    2018 Certification Goals: Maybe VMware Sales Cert
    "Simplify, then add lightness" -Colin Chapman
  • 7255carl7255carl Member Posts: 1,544 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hi and welcome to the forums