How to get into pen testing?

Hello all,

I currently work in IT support but my career goal is to get into IT security especially pen testing.

What skills are required to become an ethnical hacker? What certification path should I take?

Many thanks.

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Study, study, study everything and anything. One of the big certifications is the below. If you want to be a pen tester, you should look at the below site. Learn Kali and Linux.
    https://www.offensive-security.com/
  • Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    More specifically the OSCP on the link above. There are other certs, and other ways of doing it but that's a completely hands on cert that is respected by people who know what it is. What's your network knowledge look like? You do realize you might spend a LOT of time writing reports?
  • nebula105nebula105 Member Posts: 60 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Nisseki wrote: »
    Hello all,

I currently work in IT support but my career goal is to get into IT security especially pen testing.

What skills are required to become an ethnical hacker? What certification path should I take?

Many thanks.

Hi Nisseki,

Look at your country's job portals and their requirements.

For example, pen-testing in the UK might require that you obtain certifications from CREST.

Work towards that, and learn as much as you can via other means.

Whether it be studying certifications, setting up your own lab, obtaining approval from your management to perform pen-testing internally or boning up on different Red Team and Blue Team books.

And most importantly, never lose sight of that goal.
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□