Options

Newbie questions

booklover156booklover156 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm just getting started with the A+ certification process, and I have a few questions.

1. Is it better to focus on the 901 first and pass that, then study for and pass the 902? Or should I study for both at once?

2. Once you pass both the 901 and the 902, do you get some sort of paper certificate? How do you prove that you are A+ certified to a potential employer?

3. Does the score you get on the 901 and 902 matter, or is it a pass/fail type test?

4. When I pass the Network+ exam, does that renew my A+ certification for 3 years from the time I passed the Network+ exam? Or does it add to the three years I get from passing A+?

Comments

• Options
    shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You have to pass both tests first to gain the A+

They will send you a certificate to hang...Just list it on your resume under Education/Certification section.

https://certification.comptia.org/certifications/a/comptia-a-900-faq

https://certification.comptia.org/continuing-education/comptia-continuing-education-program-faq
    CompTIA A+, Network+, i-Net+, MCP 70-210, CNA v5, Server+, Security+, Cloud+, CySA+, ISC² CC, ISC² SSCP
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    1. I did both at the same time personally. I'm guessing a lot do it separately though

2. Yes, you get a certificate. You also get a little card you can carry in your wallet if you wanted to. https://certification.comptia.org/help/certificates-credentials-transcripts/credentials/provide-verification-of-your-comptia-certifications

3. Nope, its pass/fail

4. it would renew it from the time you passed your Net+
  • Options
  • Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    For #2, you can also log into your CompTIA certification profile and release your transcripts to anyone. That will send them a direct email from CompTIA with your credentials.