Advice for getting into cyber security field?

Dabull25Dabull25 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Thanks for taking the time to read this. So currently I have a BS degree in a completely unrelated field from IT. I graduated in 2008. A few years ago I had taken classes at my local community college in cyber security. I've taken all the Cisco course, data communication, ethical hacking and defense and LAN. I'm about 4 courses away from getting an AA degree from there. I'm wondering if I should continue taking classes to get my AA or if I should be looking at different programs(like a masters) or if I should concentrate on just getting certs. I don't have any job experience in working in IT and want to soon transition in the network security field. What path should I be looking at going forward? I really appreciate any advice. I'm confused on what I should be doing.

Comments

• Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would start by looking for any ways to gain experience be it internships or volunteer work to build your resume. You have some education already which is a plus with HR and your overall portfolio. I would suggest doing your Master's degree later down the road once you have more sustainable experience. It will benefit you later down the road doing that degree when looking to get promoted or move into a management role perhaps.

I would start looking for roles such as a NOC to ease the transition and to have something on your resume for future prospective employers. Good luck out there!! :)
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63