Certification Path Going Forward

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
Some background: I graduated with my AAS a couple of years ago and after my first IT job not working out as well as I had hoped and working retail for a while, I have been working as a school district building tech for the last 6 months or so. By far and wide, this is the best job I ever had and I think I can see myself staying here for 2-3 years for sure.

With that being said, I am trying to plan for my future. At the moment, I think my next move is to working in a higher education setting doing desktop support. Right now, in my current job, I support Windows, Mac, and iOS. My current certs are the A+, Network+ and Security+. I snagged them all when I was still in school with the course vouchers.

Now it is time to pay the piper if I want to renew my certs by the end of the year. There are three certifications I am interested in right now: ACMT, MCSA Windows 10, and MCSA Server 2012.

I should mention at this point; my job will not reimburse for anything other than the A+. Their logic being that the A+ is the only thing that is required for my job.

According to the CompTIA website, earning MCSA Server 2012 would cover renewing both the A+ and the Network+ but would hardly put a dent into renewing the Security+.

I know there is always the argument to be made that I shouldn’t even worry about renewing the CompTIA certifications but I do have a concern with this. While it may not affect me right now in my current job but what happens when my next job has it listed it as a qualification and they want documentation?

From what I have seen in job ads, not having the Security+ probably won’t hurt me that bad. So what is my best course of action: pass the Security+ again and then starting working on the other certs or just forget the Security+ and go for the MCSA?

Comments

• PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□