Leaving full time job for 1 year contract?

ThexzenoThexzeno Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey all,

At a bit of an impasse here and could use some advice or guidance. I currently work as a network administrator for a small company but am underpaid for my current skill-set (38k/yr 4 years experience ) with decent benefits a 6% 401k match and short commute, I was recently offered a contract position for 60k/yr position for a large ISP but with no benefits and a 1hr commute.

Now I am weighing the pros/cons of the situation and from what I can tell my experience will not grow at my current position nor will my salary significantly except for COL raises, Taking the contract position is risky because of the lack of benefits and I am not sure if the contract is fixed period or AT-WILL, I am somewhat leaning toward the contract position to just get the experience then hopefully be in a better position next year to get a higher paying position. What would the intelligent folks here do in my situation?

I am 25 BTW and stay in the midwest

Comments

• powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,665 ■■■■■■■■□□