CyberSecurity Student question about certs

WIZARD1325WIZARD1325 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am in my 3rd year at my university and one of my class's deals with Network + ( had to buy the book and everything)

This is my thoughts as a student then please fill in the gaps.

Ideally my thought process was to get my Degree first then get Network + cert then once I get 4 years experience (military) go for my CISSP.

Now my question to all you experience work force people out there is what do you recommend the path I should take
I have a friend that tells me not to take Network+ and go for CNNET exam instead hold more weight.

But I'm truely at a lost. My back round is I was a 15 year Air Force cop (Security Forces) using my post 9/11 bill to get my bachelors in CyberSecurity. I am a single Full time dad taking care of my 3 year old in the process. I have a little over a year left in schooling.

Any words of wisdom to set me on the good path were I can land a 60K job with ease (so to speak)

Thank you in advance

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Your friend is partially right. Skip the Network+ Exam (but do study the material!). Get the CCENT and keep going right into the CCNA. 60k might be doable, depending where you want to live. Do you have clearance?
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • TNboundTNbound Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
    If your in Tampa, you should be able to move in on 60k with ease after some experience.
  • kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Kudos to you Wizard! I would definitely do your Network+ and look at doing Security+ as well. Although it's not going to help as far as jobs and what you are looking to make, it's a good primer for the CISSP. If you are looking to get into the field as a Network Admin, then yes you can go for the CCENT, and then the CCNA. All of these certs no matter which route you take will help you in the long run.