Project Management and Troubleshooting Question

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
Project Management Question:

I do tech support at my current job, but my managers want me to do tech support and project management/coordination.

Are there any good videos to watch were I could get a better understanding of project management, such as project+ or ITIL?

I don't want to get these certs at the moment, because I'm studying for other certs.

I'm just looking for a better understanding of a project as a whole.

Troubleshooting Question:

Myself and the rest of my team have been asked to try to exhaust all steps before escalating.

We do not have SLA's or time windows for anything.

Sometimes I email my manager or other project managers when an issue arises.

I have a troubleshooting notebook/knowledge base.

Also, I'm the go to guy when issues arise.

Any tips on troubleshooting before escalating? I was thinking of counting to 10, or waiting 5 minutes before escalating.

I need to make sure I exhaust all possible solutions before escalating.
When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
American inventor

Comments

• mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Not really sure how you can escalate if you do not have a pre-defined policy for SLA so I think that would be good practice for ITIL service strategy. Project Management is something that can be read up on but is definitely something that is perfected in practice. Best thing to do is to concentrate on PMBOK framework as it is the most widely adopted but the PMBOK reads really dry so I would recommend taking a MOOC course as well as download some useful templates that you can apply to your job.
    Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
    Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)