Options

New to this whole Cyber security/IT deal

thompson515thompson515 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all!
I'm new to the forums and sort of new to this whole field. I've worked with computers my whole life primarily building them (mostly for gaming or performance based reasons). I graduated from a four year college in NYC and got my BA is crime law and social justice (CJ degree with a fancy name) and really am interested in getting into IT. I see that certifications are sort of the track to building up a solid resume and I was wondering what you guys recommended first. A+ seems to be the go to but in all honesty it looks a little easy should I shoot right for the networking+ instead? I was looking at the institute of information technology in long island city but cant find too much info on it.

any help is greatly appreciated. I know you guys probably see questions like this pretty often.

thanks
-Dan

Comments

• Options
    PocketLumberjackPocketLumberjack Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Learn some thing new every day, but don’t forget to review things you know.
  • Options
    cbtnuggetscbtnuggets Banned Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Getting into the field of IT work can be pretty daunting, but if you want to get started in training to take some certification exams, we can help you out. On our blog, we have some posts on some of the best entry-level IT certifications, how to elevate your IT career using your certs, and why you just might want to make CompTIA’s Security+ the first certification you tackle. If we got your attention, and you want to start training with us, we’ll give you your first week of training free.
  • Options
    ChinookChinook Member Posts: 206
    @CBTNuggets