EIGRP /Static routing questions

txn41655txn41655 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
hi I am still new in networking. I have a few questions:

1. I want to configure EIGRP on this topology that already have static routes, Can I have both protocols on the same routers?
2. If yes how do I configure EIGRP as the main protocol? I tried setting my static routes AD to 91 ..but the EIGRP don't show on the routing table?
3. should all routers be configured EIGRP in this topology?

ex. R3 has static routes:
ip route 172.30.0.0 255.255.255.192 g0/0.10 91
ip route 172.30.0.64 255.255.255.192 g0/1.20 91

R3 also has EIGRP route:
network 172.30.0.0 255.255.255.192
network 172.30.0.64 255.255.255.192

Thanks.

Comments

• dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Static routes have an AD of 1, if you're EIGRP routes are >1 they will never make it to the routing table. In cases like this you generally want your static routes to be floating statics (to have an AD greater than your routing protocol) in order to be used as backup routes.
  • txn41655txn41655 Member Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i don't clearly understand . I already know that static route are AD 1 and EIGRP are AD 90 . I want to make implement EIGRP to my topology and make my Existing Static routes as BACKUP...therefore I set the existing Static routes AD to 91 ?
  • AlceoAlceo Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You don't need these:
    ip route 172.30.0.0 255.255.255.192 g0/0.10 91
    ip route 172.30.0.64 255.255.255.192 g0/1.20 91

Those are directly connected to R3 so it already knows about them.
    If you use show ip route you should see a "directly connected" (symbol = C) route to those network, it has AD = 0 so the EIGRP route are not in the routing table.
    I originally created those static routes. Now I am asked to implement EIGRP as primary protocols without removing those static. What do you suggest? In real world do we usually use only 1 protocol per network? or is common to have 2 in the same network?