How can I practice CISCO commands?

MTLChrisLEEMTLChrisLEE Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm studying CCNA R&S myself as a hobby.
I'm wondering if there is any way to practice CISCO commands without CISCO gear.

So far, I've learnt basic commands like enabling telnet access and enabling SSH access.

I'm watching tutorials but as you may know, just watching videos are not helpful for getting familiarized with commands.

What should I do?

Thank you in advance and have a nice day!

Comments

• wseyllerwseyller Member Posts: 44 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Packet tracer and GNS3
  • dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Packet Tracer (PT) is the best and closest thing you can get to real thing without going putting a lot of effort into buying gear. Once your start to exceed the ability of PT then by that stage look into something like GNS3 :)
  • MacGuffinMacGuffin Member Posts: 241 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I'm wondering if there is any way to practice CISCO commands without CISCO gear.
    Is there a reason you do not wish to invest in Cisco gear? For a modest investment of perhaps $100 you can get 2 or 3 pieces of Cisco gear to play with. Just $30 should get you something useful if you know where to look, which is about the price of a good reference book and (IMHO) just as valuable. One place I've bought a number of pieces of equipment is Cables and Kits ( http://www.cablesandkits.com/ ), I'm not a paid endorser just a happy customer.