Questions about building a home lab

redbootredboot Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a couple of questions (that will show I'm new at this!)

I started my equipment by getting 2 2514 routers (w/12.3 IOS) and 2 1601 routers. I found that the "crypto" commands aren't available on these models so I can't experiment with VPNs on them.

For the questions:
1) On your equipment list, will you be able to do VPNs?
2) Is there a good comparison table posted somewhere that shows major functionality by product line? This table would show, for example, if the 800 models do VPN commands and what models perform IPS.

3) You talk about the need for RAM and Flash. For a lab, what are the benefits to having more and what is the minimum. (Frankly, I don't even know how much mine have yet!)

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    redboot wrote:
    I have a couple of questions (that will show I'm new at this!)

I started my equipment by getting 2 2514 routers (w/12.3 IOS) and 2 1601 routers. I found that the "crypto" commands aren't available on these models so I can't experiment with VPNs on them.

For the questions:
    1) On your equipment list, will you be able to do VPNs?
    2) Is there a good comparison table posted somewhere that shows major functionality by product line? This table would show, for example, if the 800 models do VPN commands and what models perform IPS.

3) You talk about the need for RAM and Flash. For a lab, what are the benefits to having more and what is the minimum. (Frankly, I don't even know how much mine have yet!)

Any equipment running the proper IOS will do what you want. :D
    http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/620/5.shtml
    If you page down you will see the alphabetical list of IOS feature descriptors.

The IOS naming convention is platform-features-type

A crypto IOS for a 2500 would be named something like c2500-is56i-l.120-24.bin or c2500-jk8os-l.122-1b.bin