Should I do Linux+ before RHCSA?

9bits9bits Member Posts: 138 ■■□□□□□□□□
I abandoned my pursuit of RHCSA because I got a job along a different path. But I'm wanting to pick it back up, since if I ever move from my current job, I'm probably going to move toward system administration. Is there much advantage to doing Linux+ first? Will it help prepare for the RHCSA exam? I've been using Linux for several years, but mostly as an enthusiast and end user.

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    As someone who has barely used linux and in no way has looked at these tests. I'm gonna assume the Linux+ would be helpful, but in my opinion I would pass on it and go straight for the RHCSA. It might be a little steeper learning curve on some things but would probably save you a bunch of time and money in the end. Especially if your end goal is getting the RHCSA.
  • hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    ^^ Skip the Linux+ since anyone can **** the exam (which makes it less valuable), and it's only knowledge-based. I was one of those guys who skipped it for the RHCSA.
  • OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Linux+ has a couple of issues. One is that it is broad, trying to cover the variety of Linux out there. The other is that it isn't really performance based in any strong way, so doesn't relate as well to real world skills and practice.

But RHCSA has the other issue of being narrowly focussed on Red Hat, and it's performance based testing means that you can pass without understanding well some of the higher level, abstract, theoretical basics.

So they can be complementary, since neither is perfect. Having said that, if I were forced to choose, I'd go for the RHCSA. The RHCE is still the go to Linux certification in a lot of places (check your local market, though).

I think that Cisco NetAcad and IBM both offer free training targeted at Linux+/LPIC. Which might be useful even if you skip the Linux+.