Options

Maybe moving to the "Dark Side" (because you guys have cookies :-))

T3chM@nT3chM@n Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm a Network Security Engineer (Cisco security appliances), and I've been dying to dig into pen testing. I'm looking on recommendations on where to start, materials, certs, etc. I've hear Sec+ is almost pointless from some, but I'm open to options. I'm definitely certification oriented, gives me a goal to go after, it's difficult for me to just "tinker" with some things certain times unless there is a solid goal at the end.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Everybody is moving into pentesting! Like, for real! Another year or two that market will be supersaturated - a good opportunity for blue teamers!!

Start with Security+. It'll give you the broad range of exposure to infosec. It sounds like you might be too narrowly focused at the moment, so I'd brush up on the basics for everything. It also helps with the resume (altho not so much for pentesting) and is a cheap/easy thing to get under your belt quickly

If you need someone to recommend a security track for you:

Security+ > EJPT > ECPPT > GPEN > OSCP > GWAPT > GXPN > GMOB - the "G" certs is where it starts to get expensive. OSCP takes a LOT of work. SANS also has some non-certification hacking courses that are good, and I'd start to insert them after GXPN & consider those before the GMOB.

Also start to follow all of the major hacking tool creators on Twitter to get updates on their tools & know when they've made cool new tools to play with. You'll get that list once you get into your studies. Play with those tools in your own lab and become a master of them. Also start to work on your command-line kung fu. Windows, *nix, scripting, PowerShell, and Python. Command-line kung fu mastery is an absolute necessity if you want to do this for a living.
  • Options
    LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□