Advice for Certifications

weilunnnweilunnn Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am currently a student studying IT security and would like to take up certifications related to security. So the first certification that i know was OSCP but with my limited knowledge, my teacher recommend to go for CEH which will give me a better idea for OSCP. I also would like to have a better understanding of things needed for OSCP before applying it because i do not want to rush into taking it and end up struggling badly. Need advice !

Thank you !

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Ah, another new entrant to the wonderful world of pentesting! Lots of people jumping on that bandwagon for sure!

Start with Security+. It'll give you the broad range of exposure to infosec. It also helps with the resume (altho not so much for pentesting) and is a cheap/easy thing to get under your belt quickly. Pentesting alone is a very, very small portion of infosec. Plus, you need to know not just how to hack stuff, but also how to fix it. When you pentest my company, your job isn't just to tell me how you hacked me - you also need to tell me how to fix the problems!!

If you need someone to recommend a security track for you:

Security+ > EJPT > ECPPT > GPEN > OSCP > GWAPT > GXPN > GMOB - the "G" certs is where it starts to get expensive. OSCP takes a LOT of work. SANS also has some non-certification hacking courses that are good, and I'd start to insert them after GXPN & consider those before the GMOB.