Failed my exam :(

maestro9maestro9 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I took my security+ exam this past weekend. I've got 3 years of working experience in the industry along with a bachelor's in IT. Pretty embarrassed that I managed to fail this exam. It was the first cert exam I took in 3 years, so my testing skills were a bit rusty.

For study material, I used CBT Nuggets videos (only watched about 1/2 of them) and ALL of the transcender questions(~800 of them). I've studied passively for about 3 months, and seriously(about 2-5 hours per day) for about 2 weeks before the exam. I've made several notecards. In addition to that, I took several free online practice tests that I could find via google. I made sure I received a score of 90+ on every practice exam before taking the actual exam. Ultimately, I got a 640 which would lead me to believe that I was just a few questions short of passing.

The tricky part for me? Definitely the interactive questions. CBT nuggets had a few interactive questions, but NONE of the interactive questions I did in CBT nuggets were like the ones on the exam. In addition to this, they make almost every question on the exam have almost 2 answers that could be correct, but you have to choose the better of the two (critical thinking).

All in all, this was a very frustrating and discouraging experience for me.

Next steps?
-From what I've been reading on this forum, it seems like Professor Messer's youtube videos are good. I will give that a whirl. I'll also end up purchasing Darril Gibson's book or practice questions (not sure which is better - i'm not much of a "book reader." Any other recommendations?

Thanks in advance all!

Comments

• kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    Did you read Darril's book? Thats the best advice I can give someone trying to take Sec+.Go over it, go over cbt stuff once more (100%) and you'll be fine.
    Remember that success is about who perseveres.
    meh