New to TechExams / Certification Roadmap

o--Spooky--oo--Spooky--o Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all,

I stumbled across this site when looking for information on GIAC's GPYC. After poking around for two days, I made an account. I have three years working experience in cybersecurity for the DoD and I am working towards my BS in CyberSecurity / Computer Networking with a minor in Info Sys Management (Only about a year and a half left if I continue part time). I have taken two SANS courses (508 and 573). I am generally curious if anyone can provide their certification experiences and which ones are the best to obtain in a tiered order.

Currently, my plan is to take GPYC, then look at getting A+, Net+, Sec+, CEH and CHFI. From there, I am unsure really where to go. Would these certifications prepare me properly for CISSP / CASP? Where do any of you suggest I look after that? I have unlimited access to test vouchers for varying test, and a hookup for free SANS courses so I am willing to take what is suggested! For the military/government folk here, I went through JCAC three years ago, to give you a baseline for my knowledge.

Thank you in advance for the help! I hope to be able to contribute to the community! icon_cheers.gif

Comments

• kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    Welcome to the forums.
    With that college background I would strongly recommend to skip A+ and Net+ and go for CCNA, and maybe a MS cert if you want more credentials in the Desktop support side.
    I dont think with that BS anyone will go, hmm but he has no A+.
    meh
  • o--Spooky--oo--Spooky--o Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□