To CEH or not to CEH

9bits9bits Member Posts: 138 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been working my current security job for about 6 months, and it's my first job that's labeled strictly as a security role. I have several years of IT experience, and some of it has been security related, but none of my previous jobs were labeled strictly as security jobs. So I'm left unsure as to whether or not I'll pass the eligibility requirement for taking the exam, and I haven't wanted to waste $100 to hear no.

The caveat is that I spoke with my CEO in December and I told him I'd be ready to take the exam in January. A former coworker, who had his CEH, assured me I'd pass the eligibility screen, but I'm just not sure if I believe it. My CEO has not brought up the exam in conversation since I mentioned it, and neither have I. He did say that he'd pay the exam fee up front, though, when I was ready to take it.

I'm just not sure if this is something I should pursue, or just let it drop. I know for certain I wouldn't spend $700 of my own money on this exam, and I'm not too thrilled about the idea of my company spending that money on the off-chance I fail the test. Another buddy of mine in IT keeps encouraging me to talk to the CEO about it and pursue it, but I don't know which is worse...just never bringing it up again, or taking the chance on trying to qualify for and take the exam and then possibility losing my company $800.

Comments

• PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Perhaps getting the Boson exam-sim and see how you do there first? It's $100 regular price, but it will give you an idea of what you should know for the real exam. I took CEHv8 for my Master's studies at WGU, and I found Boson to be much harder than the real exam. Then you can decide if you want the company to invest the time and effort getting you there.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University