Passed the 70-410 this morning!

drakerdraker Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Well, I took my very first ever certification exam today. The 70-410. Having never taken one of these before I wasn't sure what to expect, but as I sat down and started clicking through the questions I felt like I was getting the upper hand on this exam. I've been studying for the last 4+ months or so.

I've been a Sysadmin for the last 7 years. Primarily focused various versions of Windows Server. Even then, if I would not have studied, I would not have passed. The experience did help (I'm guessing), on those questions you get on the test you just didn't study for.

Materials used:

CBT Nuggets
Infinity Skills
testout/labsim
MS 70-410 Reference Book
Experience
I found what helped me was breaking the exam into the 6 objectives and then taking notes on each one. Breaking those down into the sub-objectives. I would add to those notes after reading/watching content on the objective from various sources. Everyone has a different take on the objective and covers some slightly different content.

After doing all of that.. I passed this morning with an 830.

Now on to the 411. I studied pretty hard for the last few weeks, I'll take a few days off while I research material for the 411. I'm guessing I'll keep with the testout subscription. It's pretty handy with LabSim. Probably one of the best resources, other than experience.
Break time..!

Comments

• Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Congrats on the pass! I'm looking to take this one in a few weeks.
  • Louie1277Louie1277 Member Posts: 505 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats on passing the exam... i been looking around for material for the 411 myself. So many books but don't know which one to start out with. I came across the exam Ref MCSA 70-411 .. just started with that one so far.. One of my co-workers gave me MSCA windows server 2012 r2 administration study guide 70-411.. He had it in a pdf format so i will have to check that out later.