prior service, no IT experience, passed Net+

amuricaamurica Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody, I was just wondering if any prior military members have been in a situation similar to my own and if it worked out for them. I got out of the military (nothing to do with IT) a while back and graduated from college (Sociology, but should have picked something else ;), I started studying network+ 3 months ago and passed last week (barely) because the IT world seemed interesting and job security seems legit. I still have my SECRET clearance active as I havent been out for more than 24 months and it seems like that is a plus after doing a few preliminary job searches. However, I have not a second of IT experience and only have Net+ (I started studying SEC+ and will take it hopefully in two months).

So, my question is, have any other veterans been in the same boat and had something work out like with a contractor or anything of that nature? If so, any tips/advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance. Peace.

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Veteran here. I retired four years ago and also came from a non-IT background. I took some classes and attained my A+, Network+, and Security+ certifications and was able to find a job fairly quickly afterward. Depending on where you live, a lot of companies may be interested in hiring you based on your veteran status. Check out the Recruit Military website for possible job fairs near you.

Good luck!
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • amuricaamurica Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□