Thoughts / feedback on GCCC? Or, go another route?

5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm at a bit of a crossroads between doing another technical cert (GCIA or GCFE) or pursuing the GCCC. I am a hands-on technical manager of InfoSec, so either route is applicable. I am finding myself spending a lot of time with my team researching anomalous activity (moving beyond signature-based), so the GCIA/GCFE are applicable here. In the same respect, I am building out a roadmap for the next 5 years as part of a strategic governance approach along with my boss (Director of IT) and our CIO, so I feel that the GCCC might be more applicable here.

All that being said, this is not my first rodeo in building out a security strategy for an organization. I wouldn't want to invest my training budget for a class that would only give me minimal ROI. So I'm looking for anyone who has taken the GCCC class to give some feedback, especially if you've been in security for a while - was it worth the investment? Should I spend my budget on a technical class? Or, should I go a different route (ISACA), such as the CRISC?

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Well obviously technical and governance are two different tracks. I could see GCCC being useful, or possibly some of the GIAC management certifications or legal. CISM / CISA are good options for you as well because they focus on the high level process aspects of Information Security.

If you are definitely going governance though, GCIA / GCFE would really just be an edification experience for you because it's unlikely you would use those skills once the shift happens.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin