Passed the CEH today....

McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
So far starters I would like to say that I personally did not want to tkae this test but the DoD requires it, so I went and took it. I read a lot of threads here on techexams and honestly I gota say that a lot of people here are really making this test out to be harder than it actually is. all of the practice exams I did were 10x harder than the real thing. I studied for a week and a half(this is how long it took for me to get my voucher code and schedule the test). I read half of the Sybex book and decided that it was a waste of time to finish it since I already knew pretty much everything in it. I did probably a few hundred questions on Skillset as well. Overall dealing with the EC-Council has been the worst experience of my life. They sent me 4-5 of the same emails everytime and only emailed me back at around 1 am every morning. If you are currently thinking about taking this exam, you DO NOT need to spend 3 months studdying for this exam. You need to understand basic networking/network security, authentication protocols, malware/viruses/trojans, and a handful of attacks.
I'm not allowed to say what my previous occupation was, but let's just say it rhymes with architect.

Comments

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Great job, this certifications is found in a lot of security jobs, as required or preferred.

Out of 8,000 security jobs searched on a unnamed job board, ~10% of them either required or preferred the C|EH. Second only to the CISSP which was ~45%.
  • p@r0tuXusp@r0tuXus Member Posts: 532 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats on your pass! I'm hoping to schedule this very soon. How is the OSCP coming along?
    Thanks for this quick write-up and the encouragement.
    Completed: ITIL-F, A+, S+, CCENT, CCNA R|S
    In Progress: Linux+/LPIC-1, Python, Bash
    Upcoming: eJPT, C|EH, CSA+, CCNA-Sec, PA-ACE
  • McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□