Offered $60.000 + bonus + benefits for Help Desk position

OlajuwonOlajuwon Inactive Imported Users Posts: 356
It's more than I ever made as a systems/network administrator but I had to turn it down. It looks like I would be taking 3 steps back career wise if i accepted it. It's not all about money, I have about 6 yrs experience. I started in desktop support, then field engineer, systems administrator, network administrator. HELP DESK IS A BIG NO NO 4 ME.
"And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years"

Comments

• DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Holy Shat! What kind of helpdesk job pays that much?
  • keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    that is the question.. was it a technical help desk where you would be supporting other technical users or the other kind drunken_smilie.gif
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • porengoporengo Member Posts: 343
    Sometimes it's all about what moves your career forward...as long as you're still able to pay the rent. So, Olajuwon, what in your estimation would be the next logical step of your career ladder?
  • james_james_ Member Posts: 97 ■■□□□□□□□□
    If they're offering that much for helpdesk, is there any potential to move up? Would love to know what they pay for for a networking position...
  • OlajuwonOlajuwon Inactive Imported Users Posts: 356
    keenon wrote:
    that is the question.. was it a technical help desk where you would be supporting other technical users or the other kind drunken_smilie.gif

Financial sector. It's with a bank. icon_eek.gif
    "And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years"