Options

Cloud+ and CASP CEU Renewals - A CompTIA Rant

scjohnson1988scjohnson1988 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello! I've browsed these forums for awhile, but this is my first time posting.

Background:
I obtained my CASP on September 30, 2014. I then passed Cloud+ on December 15, 2014. Between October 1 and sometime in mid-late March, I had finished all 75 of my CEUs for CASP renewal.

Story:
Upon completing my 75th CEU, I was pretty confident based on this URL, (https://web.archive.org/web/20150123110013/http://certification.comptia.org/stayCertified.aspx), which has since changed to have different verbiage, that renewing my CASPs CEUs would trigger renewal of my Cloud+. I then sent in a request to simply verify that CASP was indeed the higher level certification, which seemed obvious to me, as it required 75 CEUs to the 50 required by Cloud+. I received a reply from a helpdesk technician that my CASP renewal would also renew my Cloud+

Fast forward to this week, I happened to check something on CompTIA and noticed that some of the CEU-related pages had been overhauled, and there was new wording pertaining to renewing the Cloud+. I was confused, so I once again turned to the helpdesk. This time, they tell me that the CASP will not renew my Cloud+ certification. I then asked to speak to an elevated technician in my response, before being sent to another member of the CS team for CompTIA. The elevated technician verified that the Cloud+ would NOT renew my certification. At the same time, the elevated technician stated this was the case, as it was required for ISO 17024, however, Cloud+ is listed as not being an ISO 17024 on CompTIAs website as of today.