Passed GCIH!

jg372jg372 Member Posts: 22 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just passed the GCIH yesterday. I am a senior analyst but don't work hands on with any types of tools and don't do any pen testing whatsoever, so the course was a lot more difficult for me than others. I work more in audit/risk management. I do deal a lot with incidents so that was my biggest draw for this cert.

I scored a 64 and 70 on the practice tests, both fails. Needless to say, I was very nervous going in. I scored a 75 on the test, so barely a pass, but a pass is a pass! icon_cool.gif

Took the OnDemand course with John Strand. Thought he was a great instructor. I met him at a IANS conference once so was looking forward to taking his course. Read the books once (probably a mistake, should have read it twice). Was able to do the OnDemand slides once and did the audio MP3s probably twice altogether on my commutes to work. Index I thought was key and I even put tabs in the books.

Was surprised there wasn't any (maybe 1) Metasploit questions on the test. Practice tests were very comparable to the real exam. Overall, thought it was a great course in general.

Next up will be CISA as I don't believe my company will be paying for anymore GIAC certs icon_sad.gif

If you have any questions, let me know. Still on a bit of a high from the pass yesterday!!

Comments

• JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Congrats on the pass and good luck on the CISA icon_cheers.gif
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
  • TacoRocketTacoRocket Member Posts: 497 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats! It was a great course I enjoyed. Good luck on the CISA!
    These articles and posts are my own opinion and do not reflect the view of my employer.

Website gave me error for signature, check out what I've done here: https://pwningroot.com/
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Congrats on the pass!!