Options

Question on setting up live CCNA home lab

mustangg81mustangg81 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all. I'm currently studying for the CCNA and I have a question. When configuring devices how do I set up the lab so instead of having to disconnect and reconnect the console cable I can use some kind of software to just click the router/switch and do it that way? Im currently watching Chris Bryants videos and his lab is setup in a way where he just clicks the router/switch he wants to configure and there you go. Is there some kind of access terminal I need or something like that? Im planning on ordering live cisco gear on ebay. Just need some help on this. Thanks all.

Comments

• Options
    rob42rob42 Member Posts: 423
    First off, welcome to the Forum.

If you read some of the posts on here, you'll see quite a few asking about 'home lab equipment'. Most (if not all) will advise that you don't need physical equipment at home in order to study for and pass the ICND1/ICND2 [CCNA] exam: there are alternatives to buying equipment that you know little or nothing about and the pitfalls are many and varied. Please read as many of the posts as you can find as the information will be of value to you.

The console connection is used to configure a device in such a way that it can be accessed from a LAN, via a Telnet or a SSH connection. Some devices can even be accessed via a HTTP connection.

The client software will depend on what O.S you use. If you use a Linux based system, the client is right there. With a M.S Windows based system, you'll need client software, something like 'Putty' or 'Kitty'. I can't tell you about Apple MAC based systems as I don't use them (op's feel free to jump right in).

You'll find that most of the members of this Forum are very helpful and are willing to give you help and advice, but again, search first, ask later.

How are you planning to study? What material do you plan on using?
    No longer an active member
  • Options