CEH exam cost doubt

OfftopicOfftopic Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Am I correct in understanding that in order to write ceh exam i need to
1. Spend $850 USD plus pay fee for course to an approved institute? So total will be more than 2k
2. Prove that i have more than 2 years experience by paying $100 to EC council and then pay another $500/$600 for wxam to EC / pearson vue
Can someone please clarify?

Comments

• LaSeenoLaSeeno Member Posts: 64 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You are correct, unfortunately. I already paid my $100, not too happy to drop another $650 for the exam in a few weeks.
  • Moldygr33nb3anMoldygr33nb3an Member Posts: 241
    Offtopic wrote: »
    Am I correct in understanding that in order to write ceh exam i need to
    1. Spend $850 USD plus pay fee for course to an approved institute? So total will be more than 2k
    2. Prove that i have more than 2 years experience by paying $100 to EC council and then pay another $500/$600 for wxam to EC / pearson vue
    Can someone please clarify?

Yes, the CEH is really expensive.
    Current: OSCP

Next: CCNP (R&S and Sec)

Follow my OSCP Thread!
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    A lot of security jobs either require or prefer the candidate possess that certification. Second only to the CISSP.

IMO I would forget Security + and those others and just get the CEH until you had the experience for the CISSP. Just saying...
  • ethical-hacker-73ethical-hacker-73 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I passed the CEH v9 today.

My suggestions.

Understand the following:

firewalking
    nmap -A and -O commands
    when to use hping
    when a Microsoft O/S will not respond to ICMP
    LM vs NTLM
    password salting
    Rainbow attacks
    RC4, AES, PKI
    process to encrypt message
    use of hashes for integrity
    written auth for pen testing
    understanding impact of Heartbleed and ShellShock (Bashshells and O/S impacted)