Options

CISSP or Bachelors next?

Hey everyone,

Im about to finish up the CCNP R&S and im thinking about what is next. I currently work in the networking field and am trying to get in with an ISP once i have the CCNP. I really want to get into INFOSEC. Thats always been my goal. However i can get a good portion of my schooling paid for with CISSP or bachelors. But which is going to be best for me?
I plan to do 3-4 months after the ccnp and study python to get some programming knowledge under my belt before jumping into my next big thing. (I will have completed N+,CCNA,CCNP in a row without much breaks between)

Any insight is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would say both but....it depends on the requirements of the jobs you are looking for. The B.S. is only an HR filter in my opinion. I feel experience trumps education every time but it doesn't hurt to have both. If you want to get to the higher levels then I think the B.S. will be a requirement in most cases. In terms of timeline, the CISSP can be had quicker so that might be the way to go. Do you have the required experience for the CISSP? If not then I would definitely do the B.S. first.

That being said, I don't think the CISSP will help much until you have several years of security experience. A B.S. will help right away with any job to at least get interviews. A B.S. in the security area would help get those entry level infosec jobs and the CISSP will help you advance your career later.
  • Options
    OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    Where are you starting from? Do you have (or almost have) the experience requirement for CISSP? Do you have an Associates degree? Or are you starting from near scratch with both?