SQL journey

Chev ChelliosChev Chellios Member Posts: 343 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I don't mind admitting that I am an SQL noob, I've managed to get away with not using this for most of my career in server and network gigs. However, my new role has pushed a big project my way with the incentive of some MS SQL training at the end of next month but the project involves a lot of SQL work and a steep learning curve for me.

I don't want to rock up knowing nothing SQL based and would like to learn this to add to my skills, where is best to start as there are millions of vids on youtube etc. I'm looking at codecademy and some free vids on Udemy but any other suggestions would be great.

Thanks all.

Comments

• TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Microsoft Academy.
  • Chev ChelliosChev Chellios Member Posts: 343 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks for that, the virtual academy looks like there is plenty on there.
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Lynda.com, Pluralsight, Nuggets have some really good CBT's. I've watched them all, worth reviewing one or two. They follow the adventure works database.
  • urstuffplz1urstuffplz1 Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I've just got hold of the 70-462 materials to learn how to setup SQL servers and best practices. Looks good for sysadmin roles and not so much the programming side of things
    2018 Goals: CCNP Route 300-101[X], CCNP Switch 300-115[X], CCNP T'Shoot 300-135[X], VCP-DCV 6[], 70-412[], 70-413[], 70-414[]
    Thanks the help guys. 70-462 does sound more interesting that's for sure!
    Give 462 a go and see if anything comes out of it. At least you'll learn somethings....
  • cbtnuggetscbtnuggets Banned Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    We have a bunch of resources to help you get the hang of SQL. Our trainer Garth Schulte does some awesome work going through the ins and outs through our training. Our training isn’t necessarily free, but the first week of it is.