Options

Sprinting to the CCIE

EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
I was a network engineer in a former life but that was 15 years ago. I now find myself in the position to chase the technical certs I want to, even if I don't have time at work to work on them. Going after the CCIE is for me, to finish a goal I wasn't able to complete way-back-when (back when the lab was two days long). It took a few months but I regained the CCNP in Feb.

The Plan

I've decided to projectize my preparation for the CCIE Lab. Agile is a type of project management with scrum as a subset, where you define very specific tasks that will be worked on during a set period of time. Typically, these periods are consistent. Scrum time-lines are known as "sprints", sprints have a planning phase, iterative action phases and a retrospective where you reflect on what worked, what didn't and how to improve. Continuous improvement of the process is part of scrum.

I've decided on eight-week sprints, allowing for the occasional weekend away or week-long vacation. Assuming 15-20 hrs of study per week (three week-days with four hrs of study plus one weekend day with eight), a sprint will be 125-150 hrs of study. The first half will be around 50/50 lab work and non-lab work. Prep for the written will occur simultaneously with lab prep. After the written is passed, weekend lab time will increase eventually to 12-hr days to ensure I'm used to long lab days.

The first third will focus on the following:

Link-Layer
IGP
BGP
MPLS
DMVPN

The Resources

I bought the INE ultimate R&S pack as well as a copy of VIRL then my boss gave me some Cisco learning credits. I bought the Cisco 360 premium package and if I can get time away from the office I want to attend Narbik's 10-day R&S bootcamp.