CISSP Passed - 1st Attempt 4/2/17

AaronsmityAaronsmity Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Me: 3.5 years IT Audit experience

Study Sources:
Shon Harris AIO
Sybex Official
Eric Conrad CISSP Study Guide
Official ISC2 Practice Questions
Transcender (the only thing in this list I do not recommend)

I studied for about 5 months total for this test and went through a fairly thorough process of studying that worked out well for me, I tend to over-prepare but it gives me peace of mind.

Months 1-3:

I read AIO cover to cover without taking any notes just to get a feel for the material. I then re-read AIO taking a lot of notes. Next, read Eric Conrad and Sybex cover to cover filling in any gaps not covered by AIO or adding in better/more thorough explanations. Honestly this came out to like 200 pages of notes in a word document although there were quite a lot of diagrams and figures I had taken screenshots of (both Sybex and AIO come with pdf copies). THIS is what I used to read and study over and over - my combined notes for the 3 main books everyone seems to use. This took probably 3 months for me to compile to ensure I was satisfied with its comprehensive coverage. I just read this over and over until I thought I had a solid understanding of the material.

Month 4:
LOTS of practice questions… and only go through them ONCE to avoid artificially upping my scores because I am just memorizing the answers. I went through probably 5000 questions through all my study sources and online resources and was averaging low to mid 80s on my tests on the first pass. Any questions I got wrong or was not familiar with would get researched and would add any relevant information in my notes.

Month 5: