Options

Project+ Questions- Please Help

aftershocckkaftershocckk Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all. First and foremost, thank you for reading and taking the time to offer your help. I am a junior MIS student at a university in Ohio. I am looking to pursue a career in project management, and I have struggled to find an internship or any related work so far despite work history since I was 16, and pretty good grades. With that being said, I started thinking about other ways to make my resume stand out after I finish college. My cousin is a PM for a very large international corporation, and I noticed a lot of his PM certifications such as PMP, PSM, and KMP. I thought it might not be a bad idea to do a lot of self teaching and learning over the summer and try to obtain a certification before graduation, and I stumbled upon the Project+. As far as I know, I can take this exam without any experience or a completed degree, correct? Also, do you believe that I am correct in my thinking that this could help set me apart in the future? I know that this cert doesn't quite hold the same meaning as the PMP or the CAPM, but I figured it could be something to show that I have taken the initiative to do some learning and gain experience on my own. Any information or suggestions you guys can offer would be wonderful. Thank you so much!

Comments

• Options
    Deus Ex MachinaDeus Ex Machina Member Posts: 127
    Hello aftershocckk, and welcome to our forums.

I was in almost your exact same shoes a year ago, if that makes you feel any better.

The PMP is a gold standard certification for project management, but it is not something you could get right now, as it requires 5 years of management related work experience.

The CAPM and the Project+ are both good certifications to have, though I would give a slight edge to the CAPM simply for having slightly more notoriety, though neither certification is very well known or going to single-handedly get you a job.