Passed N10-006!!

AspiringAspiring Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I just made a thread earlier this week that I was taking it today and here's the update.

I got a 797 on my first attempt so I'm obviously pretty pumped after hearing all the horror stories. I have absolutely no IT experience whatsoever so this should be an inspiration to those who may seem daunted and think it's not for them since they have no experience. The testing center I was at was very unprofessional (people yelling and talking loudly right next door), so that didn't help matters either, but it made my score all that much more satisfying at the end.

Granted, I studied my butt off and it was a difficult test but not the hardest I've ever taken by any means. A lot of easy questions as well as a lot of tricky ones too. For the tricky troubleshooting ones, use answer elimination. There's a surprising amount of dumb answers they will give you so often times you will have to narrow it down to the two best. I only had 3 simulation questions and not much on subnetting. It was all mainly troubleshooting and a lot of security questions which was to be expected.

I used Tamara Dean's Network+ Guide to Networks textbook, various practice exam websites, and the Messer videos. Anything I didn't quite understand, I just Wikipedia'd it. The best practice exam website was MeasureUp (cost about $70) without a doubt since the questions were the most difficult and they gave you detailed answers after every question.

I started studying heavily in January and I knew absolutely nothing about routers, switches, or anything. So hopefully this goes to show that, no matter what your experience is, you can pass this test but you have to really want it and enjoy what you're studying.

Comments

• cdxcdx Member Posts: 186
    Congrats Aspiring! Thanks for sharing your experience.
    Bachelor of Science - Information Technology - Security
    Associate of Science - Computer Information Systems