Do you study according to completing objectives or based on time slots?

dontstopdontstop Member Posts: 579 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey all,

I've found that during my previous studies I studied based on objectives (e.g. complete chapter 12 today) and I'm wondering what strategies everyone else use when studying? I found that with studying objectives I could get caught out when I had a particularly long chapter or difficult content. With no time pressure either (e.g. I'll get 3 hours of study today and stop) I could end up blowing out my time because I had no clear time goal.

What's your personal strategy?

Currently reading: http://hackmystudy.com/how-to-manage-your-time-effectively-as-a-student/

Comments

• PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    To the best of my ability, I am objective-based. I don't like stopping in the middle of something. Since I study at night from about 9p - 12a, I will usually do one or two chapters, and then quit regardless of the time. If I start getting tired, I will at least finish a paragraph, even though I would rather keep going. Time-based gives me too many reasons to procrastinate (I need to check up on the dogs/cats, I need to check for software updates, etc...) Objectives-based FORCES me to be mindful about wasting time.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
  • thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□