Failed CompTIA Network+

boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I failed the Net+ with a 669 today. Used Mike Meyer's book, Professor Messer videos, Techtarget, and CompTIA exam objectives.

Almost nothing I studied was on the test. In fact I had to reread most of the questions multiple times to even formulate a response.

Should I study for and take the Net+ again or should I just go for the CCENT?

Anyone else take the Net+ recently and have the same experience as me?

I know VPN's, TCP/IP, Subnet, Firewalls everything. There was just none of it on the test.
Currently enrolling into WGU's IT - Security Program. Working on LPIC (1,2,3) and CCNA (and S) as long term goals and preparing for the Security+ and A+ as short term goals.

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Honestly, unless it is a requirement at work, I would just move on the CCENT. It will likely give you more bang for your buck, seeing as the entire CCNA is only $36 more than the Network+ exam.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I'd ask what questions were on the test, cause I'm definitely curious what type of questions they are asking if it is not listed on the Net+ objectives sheet, but that would be against their terms.
  • boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I know everything on the exam objectives sheet. I read the book, watched all the Pluralsight videos (forgot to mention) watched all the Messer videos twice and for 3 days before the test I spent 10 hours a day literally Techtargetting and Wiki'ing every single exam objective again for really quick overviews to make sure I knew the material.