Options

Did CompTIA go overboard with the new difficulty?

Kimura410Kimura410 Member Posts: 71 ■■■□□□□□□□
I took the version before the current version out now. It was the hardest test I have ever taken hands down, and I studied 2-3 hours a day every day for 4-5 months. I passed, but some people I work with need to pass it in order to keep their jobs. Seems like these guys have been studying like crazy for the past 6 months, and after multiple attempts, none of them have passed.

Just curious as to what the response has been to the current version. The version I took was the one where they first added simulations and apparently that made it much harder, so I cant imagine what else they could have done to make it harder than the one I took. Did CompTIA overdo it this time around?

Comments

• Options
    Infosec85Infosec85 Member Posts: 192 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Personally I thought Network+ was more complex than the SY0-401 exam. I passed Comptia's Security+ first time round with no prior security experience, apart from what little I came across through my Network+ studies.

The issue is not the exam getting harder, with each passing year technologies evolve and new technologies are introduced, including new attack vectors etc.

Therefore Comptia have to include the above within new exam versions to meet the needs of the industry and stay relevant.

As to why the individuals you know have failed multiple times it could be the resources they are using, so my advice would be to purchase Darril Gibson's book and online premium content which will prepare you for the simulation questions on the exam and to get the pass.
  • Options
    Kimura410Kimura410 Member Posts: 71 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Oh that makes sense.

And yeah, these guys are using darrils book. at least one guy is anyway, he brought it in one day. perhaps they just arent studying as much as they lead on, or they simply arent retaining it.