Passed Sec +... CEH/CASP/GIAC next?

Sec2017Sec2017 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster. I passed the Security + yesterday at 767 of 750. Not bad for studying only 1.5 weeks. Its not a great score, but passing is passing! :)

I used the Darril Gibson study book and took notes on literally every subject. I also bought his full online study package. I listened to the audio files while driving or working out and rinse and repeated every practice exam he had until I had 98% on each one.

Professor Messer videos were great, but there were just way too many to watch.

I've been doing helpdesk and desktop support for the past 2 years with my Comptia A+ and I hate it, so a career change was needed asap. I was wondering what are real world jobs I could be looking at now, and what certs I should get to further my IT career? I was thinking CEH or CASP or GIAC.

I honestly have no idea what I want to do in the cyber security field. My guess is first get a cyber security job and see from there what interests me.

I will appreciate any input. Thanks

Comments

• Nana zakiNana zaki Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
    icon_cheers.gifcongratulate for the pass and i wish for all
  • cdxcdx Member Posts: 186
    CEH > CISSP for most ROI, also more well known security certs to employers, however you will not learn a lot of hands on from these certs. Anything in GIAC is great however very expensive unless you can get your employer to pay for it.

You can start at a SOC job to get hands on experience. Then find a field of cybersecurity you wish to pursue.
    Bachelor of Science - Information Technology - Security
    Associate of Science - Computer Information Systems
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□